Court gavel stock image.

Marion County has joined a dozen cities in filing a lawsuit against the state Department of Land Conservation and Development over new rules meant to lower greenhouse gas emissions.

Cornelius, Forest Grove, Grants Pass, Happy Valley, Hillsboro, Keizer, Medford, Oregon City, Springfield, Troutdale, Tualatin, and Wood Village filed a lawsuit last week in the Oregon Court of Appeals.

Oregon’s Land Conservation and Development Commission adopted the “Climate-Friendly and Equitable Communities Rules” and filed them with the secretary of state on Aug. 17.

The rules were crafted over two years and require the elimination of specific parking mandates, the adoption of parking regulation improvements and maximums, the growth of electric vehicle infrastructure, and the development of “climate-friendly areas.”

The rules apply to the eight largest metropolitan areas in Oregon: Albany, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene/Springfield, Grants Pass, Medford/Ashland, Portland metro and Salem/Keizer.

Source link

Call Now Button