Democrat Tina Kotek will be sworn in as Oregon’s 39th governor today, Jan. 9.

Kotek won a close race against Republican Christine Drazan and Independent candidate Betsy Johnson last November, becoming Oregon’s first openly lesbian governor and among the first openly lesbian governors in the nation — Maura Healey of Massachusetts was also elected governor.

The House and Senate will first meet separately Monday morning to swear in legislators, elect leadership, adopt rules and introduce bills filed before the session.

Sen. Rob Wagner, D-Lake Oswego, will be sworn in as the first new Oregon Senate president since 2003 after the retirement of Sen. Peter Courtney, D-Salem. Republicans reelected Sen. Tim Knopp, R-Bend, to serve as Senate Republican Leader.

Gov.-elect Tina Kotek speaks to supporters during a Nov. 8 election night party for the Democratic Party of Oregon at the Hyatt Regency in Portland.

In the House, current speaker Dan Rayfield, D-Corvallis, will be officially nominated to serve another term as the Speaker of the Oregon House of Representatives. Rep. Vikki Breese-Iverson, R-Prineville, was also re-elected to serve as the House Republican Leader.

The House and Senate will then convene in the afternoon for a joint session where Chief Justice Meagan A. Flynn is set to administer the Oath of Office and Kotek will give her inaugural address.

Source link

Call Now Button